Skip to main content
close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.

Summer Library Challenge - June 1-August 1, 2024

Westlake Porter Public Library Summer Library Challenge

Westlake Porter Public Library is challenging all ages to read or listen to books each day this summer!

 

Beanstack is a digital tool to track your reading and other library challenges throughout the year!

Sign up for Beanstack once and track your progress year after year. You can sign up the whole family and track not only your own reading but your kids' progress in 1000 Books Before Kindergarten, the Summer Library Challenge and more!

Download the Beanstack Tracker app to keep up with your reading on the go on your favorite mobile device.

Beanstack logoGo to the Apple App StoreGo to the Google Play Store

Meet the Challenge

Summer Library Challenge log/game board thumbnailStarting June 1 record each day that you read. Complete 15 days of reading (they do not need to be consecutive) and go on one adventure. Then stop by the library to pick-up your halfway prize and get your entry into the grand prize raffle! Halfway prizes are available beginning June 15.

Don’t stop there! Keep reading and after you complete 30 days of reading and another adventure, stop by the library beginning June 30 to pick up your completion reward and receive more entries for the grand prize raffle!

The Summer Library Challenge is open to all ages!

  • For kids up to Kindergarten age we recommend 5-10 minutes per day
  • For kids in grades 1-6 we recommend 20 minutes per day
  • For grades 7-12 and adults we recommend 30 minutes per day
  • Any amount of reading counts!

Earn bonus entries for the grand prize drawing with extra reading days or adventures! Read up to 32 extra days and earn more entries the more you read, up to 23 grand prize entries. Go on up to 18 bonus adventures and earn one extra entry per activity. Bonus entries are logged on Beanstack only.

Choose Your Adventures

Choose two adventures to complete during the Summer Library Challenge after 15 days and 30 days. After you've finished the Challenge, you can earn one extra entry per bonus activity to the grand prize raffle (up to 14 more entries!).

  • compass illustrationAttend a program at WPPL
  • Visit the Makerspace
  • Visit the play area at WPPL
  • Read a graphic novel about a person without superpowers
  • Visit the Book Nook
  • Check out an item from the non-traditional materials collection
  • Tell a nursery rhyme to a sibling or furry friend
  • Take a photo of Flat Suma and tag us on social media with #FlatSuma
  • Take a picture of a wild animal
  • Check out a movie based on a book you read
  • Visit the Local History section
  • Explore the ArtWalk
  • Read a Blog on the WPPL website
  • Read a book in the Reading Garden
  • Explore the Metroparks trails
  • Visit a zoo or aquarium
  • Read a book in a genre you don’t usually read
  • Watch a documentary on Kanopy
  • Listen to an audiobook with the Libby or Hoopla app
  • Make a recipe from a cookbook

Earn the Rewards

Halfway prizes are available beginning Saturday, June 15.

Final prizes are available beginning Sunday, June 30.

Teens in grades 7-12 who complete 30 days of reading will be invited to the Teen Lock-In on Friday, August 9 from 7-9:30 p.m.

Grand prize raffle entries must be entered by 9 p.m. on August 1. Grand prize raffles will be drawn on August 2 and winners will be notified by library staff. All rewards must be picked up no later than August 15.

All prizes are subject to availability while supplies last.

Join us at blogs.westlakelibrary.org for info about books, movies, crafts, and much more! There's something to interest everyone.

Upcoming events
Fri, Jul 12, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Storytime Room
Registration is now closed

Fri, Jul 12, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Storytime Room

Sat, Jul 13, 10:30am - 11:00am
Storytime Room

Sat, Jul 13, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Friends Pavilion

Sat, Jul 13, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Reading Garden

Sun, Jul 14, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Storytime Room

Mon, Jul 15, 1:00pm - 2:30pm
Dover Room

Tue, Jul 16, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Storytime Room

Wed, Jul 17, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Porter Room
This event is full

Wed, Jul 17, 2:00pm - 2:45pm
Storytime Room
This event is full

Wed, Jul 17, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Technology Training Lab
This event is full

Wed, Jul 17, 4:30pm - 6:00pm
Storytime Room

Wed, Jul 17, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Board Room

Thu, Jul 18, 10:00am - 10:30am
Friends Pavilion

Thu, Jul 18, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Thu, Jul 18, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Craft Room

Thu, Jul 18, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Technology Training Lab

Fri, Jul 19, 10:30am - 11:30am
Friends Pavilion

Fri, Jul 19, 4:00pm - 4:30pm
Storytime Room

Sat, Jul 20, 10:30am - 11:00am
Storytime Room

Sat, Jul 20, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Porter Room

Sat, Jul 20, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Craft Room

Sun, Jul 21, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Craft Room

Sun, Jul 21, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Storytime Room

Mon, Jul 22, 9:00am - 9:00pm
Registration opens Monday, July 15 2024 at 9:00am

Mon, Jul 22, 1:00pm - 7:00pm
Porter Room

Tue, Jul 23, 9:30am - 9:50am
Storytime Room

Tue, Jul 23, 10:00am - 11:30am
Technology Training Lab
Registration opens Tuesday, July 16 2024 at 9:00am

Tue, Jul 23, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Tuesday, July 16 2024 at 9:00am

Tue, Jul 23, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Dover Room

Wed, Jul 24, 11:00am - 11:30am
Storytime Room

Wed, Jul 24, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Friends Pavilion

Wed, Jul 24, 4:30pm - 6:00pm
Storytime Room

Wed, Jul 24, 7:00pm - 7:30pm
Storytime Room

Thu, Jul 25, 1:00pm - 2:30pm
Craft Room

Thu, Jul 25, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Craft Room
Registration opens Thursday, July 18 2024 at 9:00am

Thu, Jul 25, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Technology Training Lab
Registration opens Thursday, July 18 2024 at 9:00am

Thu, Jul 25, 6:30pm - 7:15pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Thursday, July 18 2024 at 9:00am

Fri, Jul 26, 4:30pm - 5:30pm
Craft Room
Registration opens Friday, July 19 2024 at 9:00am

Sat, Jul 27, 10:30am - 11:00am
Storytime Room

Sat, Jul 27, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Technology Training Lab
Registration opens Saturday, July 20 2024 at 9:00am

Sun, Jul 28, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Sunday, July 21 2024 at 9:00am

Mon, Jul 29, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Porter Room

Tue, Jul 30, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Tuesday, July 23 2024 at 9:00am

Tue, Jul 30, 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Makerspace

Wed, Jul 31, 11:00am - 11:30am
Storytime Room

Wed, Jul 31, 4:30pm - 6:00pm
Storytime Room

Wed, Jul 31, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Dover Room

Wed, Jul 31, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Porter Room

Thu, Aug 01, 10:00am - 11:30am
Technology Training Lab
Registration opens Thursday, July 25 2024 at 9:00am

Thu, Aug 01, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Thursday, July 25 2024 at 9:00am

Thu, Aug 01, 1:00pm - 7:00pm
Porter Room

Thu, Aug 01, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Zoom Programming 1
Registration opens Thursday, July 25 2024 at 9:00am

Sat, Aug 03, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat, Aug 03, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Craft Room
Registration opens Saturday, July 27 2024 at 9:00am

Sun, Aug 04, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Craft Room
Registration opens Sunday, July 28 2024 at 9:00am

Mon, Aug 05, 9:00am - 9:00pm
Registration opens Monday, July 29 2024 at 9:00am

Tue, Aug 06, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Porter Room

Wed, Aug 07, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Dover Room

Wed, Aug 07, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Makerspace
Registration opens Wednesday, July 31 2024 at 9:00am

Thu, Aug 08, 10:00am - 11:30am
Technology Training Lab
Registration opens Thursday, August 1 2024 at 9:00am

Thu, Aug 08, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Storytime Room
Registration opens Thursday, August 1 2024 at 9:00am

Thu, Aug 08, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Friends Pavilion

Thu, Aug 08, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Technology Training Lab

Fri, Aug 09, 10:30am - 11:00am
Dover Room

Fri, Aug 09, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Storytime Room

Sat, Aug 10, 10:30am - 11:00am
Dover Room

Sun, Aug 11, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Storytime Room

Summer Library Challenge prizes provided by ...


Friends of Porter Public Library logo Cleveland Monsters hockey team logo Cleveland Charge basketball team logo