Is Westlake Porter Public Library part of the Cuyahoga County Public Library system?
No, Westlake Porter Public Library is an independent library, not part of the county system.
Is it a hassle to get a library card?
No, library cards are issued while you wait (with current photo ID). You do not need to be a Westlake resident to be issued a card. Anyone who lives, works, owns property, or goes to school in Ohio can get one. You just need verifiable current identification. You can even fill out the application online.
What should I do if my card is missing?
Patrons are asked to notify the library immediately when a card is lost or stolen (to protect the patron).
What are your hours?
Our regular hours are Monday through Thursday from 9:00 am to 9:00 pm, Friday and Saturday we are open from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm and Sundays from 1:00 pm to 5:00 pm. We are closed for some major holidays throughout the year.
Do I need my driver's license to register to vote?
How many items can be checked out on a card at a time?
A single card can have up to 75 items on it.
How long are the loan periods?
Three (3) weeks for most materials, except some new and high-interest items that go out for 7 days, such as new adult fiction DVDs and Blu-Ray discs, Express copies of best-selling magazines and books, and video games.
Can I renew?
Yes, materials can be renewed six (6) times (except Express items) for their normal loan period and may be renewed in person, over the phone or online through our Web catalog, however, if an item is on hold it cannot be renewed.
What should I do if I lose a book?
Patrons are asked to notify the library if materials are misplaced— the library will renew material if possible.
What can be returned in the book drop?
Most anything can be returned in the book drop unless there is a label indicating otherwise. Even overdue materials may be returned there, and fines may be paid later.
How much are fines and when do they have to be paid?
WPPL is fine free. Library card accounts will still be suspended if:
Materials are not returned within three weeks of the due date for most materials, one week for select materials
Fees for lost or damaged materials are unpaid
Total fines accrued before fines were eliminated exceed $10
10 or more items are overdue
Borrowers will be billed for replacement of damaged or lost materials.
Can I return my books at other libraries, even though WPPL isn't part of CCPL?
Yes, materials may be returned to any public library in Ohio. A cooperative service delivers these materials back to their home libraries. There is no charge for this service. Items borrowed through SearchOhio or OhioLINK must be returned to WPPL.
To access the Makerspace you will need a library card, and will also need to present a Photo ID and complete a Makerspace user agreement before using the space for the first time.
Do I need a library card to use the Makerspace?
Yes, a library card is required to use the Makerspace. Digital Library cards are also acceptable for the Makerspace. Access to the Makerspace is not restricted due to lost or overdue library materials.
Is there a cost to use the Makerspace?
There is no cost to use equipment in the Makerspace, though there may be costs associated with materials used within the space. If you bring your own compatible materials to use in the space, there is no charge to use the space.
Can I bring in my own materials?
You may bring in your own materials to use on Makerspace equipment, except the sublimation printer, provided that they are compatible with our equipment. Please check with a Makerspace staff member to verify materials are compatible.
Due to the setup of the sublimation printer, users may not use their own sublimation ink or paper.
Regular printouts using patron-supplied paper are still charged the per-page fee due to the cost of printer maintenance and toner.
The Library reserves the right to deny the use of any materials on any equipment in the Makerspace for any reason.
How old do you have to be to use the Makerspace?
Makerspace users 18+ yrs. must sign a Makerspace User Agreement prior to use of the space.
Makerspace users 13-17 yrs. must have a parent or legal guardian sign a Makerspace User Agreement prior to use of the space, but may use the space independently after the agreement is on-file.
Makerspace users 12 yrs. and under must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.
Exceptions may be made for group visits, such as class visits, troop visits, etc.
Do I need a reservation to access the Makerspace?
As of 3/1/23, you will need a reservation in order to use the Makerspace.
Max reservation length for equipment is:
3D Printer: 3 hours
Sound Booth: 2 hours
Button Maker: 1 Hour
Cricut: 1 Hour
Heat Press: 1 Hour
Sewing Machine: 1 Hour
Additional time may be used if the equipment is not reserved after your time slot.
The Makerspace is a self-directed space, with patrons operating the equipment and software themselves. Staff may be available for brief questions or to point you to resources to learn how to use various software and equipment.
If you are a first-time user of a piece of equipment, you can schedule a 1-on-1 appointment with a staff member to go over operational of a particular piece of equipment. Contact the Makerspace to setup 1-on-1 appointments.
Staff are unable to design or produce items for users, with the exception of the staff-operated 3D printer service.
In the lobby of the library, near the Welcome desk.
How much does the art cost?
The art is free, but please limit yourself to one piece of art per day.
Do I need to leave art if I want to take a piece?
You are welcome to leave art for others to take, but it is not necessary.
If I donate five pieces of art, may I also take five pieces?
Please limit yourself to taking one piece of art per day, regardless of how much art you donate.
May I take one piece of art AND one supply?
How big can my art be?
We prefer art that is smaller than 4” x 6” x 4”, but larger pieces may be included as space allows.
Can I put my art directly in the gallery?
Yes, you can place your own art in the gallery if there is space and you don’t obstruct another piece.
What if the gallery is full or I want someone else to put my art in the gallery?
You may leave your art pieces at the Welcome desk.
What kind of art may I donate? Can I donate macaroni art, homemade lotion or candles?
Donate small paintings, drawings, collage, jewelry, pottery, wood, sculptures, origami, small crochet or knitted pieces, photography, painted rocks, greeting cards, zines, magnets, etc.
We ask that you don’t bring in anything that may attract critters, be messy or smelly, or goes on the skin.
I donated something two weeks ago and it was gone the next week. Now it’s back—what happened?
Sometimes we rotate art that has been in the gallery for a while to give other pieces a chance to be viewed, or to display art that fits a theme.
I have supplies left over from my kid’s art classes. Can I donate them to the gallery?
Yes, we’d love to pass on new or gently used art supplies and small kits. Examples would be art and origami paper; Crayola-type products; jewelry supplies; embroidery floss; wood, ceramic, and papier-mâché shapes that can be decorated; small canvases; small smooth rocks to be painted; and clear plastic zipper bags. Please leave them at the Welcome desk.
Bulky items like yarn and fabric are not needed at this time.
Will I get paid for my art? May I attach my social media or contact information to my art?
This is a free exchange of art—no money is involved.
You may attach your social media handles or other contact information to your art. We may share your art and tag you on library social media as well!
Are the supplies and art that I donate tax deductible?
The library does not give tax advice but will provide a blank contribution receipt upon request.
How can I follow the Free Little Art Gallery on social media?