close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Research Databases and Subscriptions

WPPL has many excellent resources to assist you with conducting research, learning a new skill, or exploring the world. In addition, there are FDLP resources available on our Government Documents page and non-fiction eBooks, newspapers, streaming videos, and more available on our Download & Stream page.

 
  • about:books

    A book-related search engine from the Ohio Public Library Information Network. Search by title, author, etc., and find information on books, reviews, etc.

  • Academic Search Premier

    This database includes academic journals going back as far as 1975, and further in some cases. Journals cover a wide range of academic disciplines.

  • African American Heritage

    ProQuest® African American Heritage is a groundbreaking digital resource exclusively devoted to African American family history research. It provides users a dedicated resource that brings together records critical to African American family research and connects them to a community of research experts, who can provide invaluable mentoring and assistance.

  • ALLDATA

    IN LIBRARY ONLY | Automotive diagnostic and repair information.

  • America's News Magazines & Plain Dealer

    Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded. The Plain Dealer (Cleveland, OH) and other News Magazines are available.

  • American & English Literature

    Includes full text of works of American and English prose, drama and poetry.

  • American Physical Society Journals

    IN LIBRARY ONLY | The American Physical Society (APS) provides free online access to all APS journals in U.S. public libraries and high schools. Among the journals available are Physical Review Letters, Physical Review X, Physical Review, and Reviews of Modern Physics.

  • Ancestry Library Edition

    IN LIBRARY ONLY | A genealogical database that includes U.S. Census data, special collections, as well as charts and forms to organize your research.

  • Biography Reference Bank

    This database from H.W. Wilson provides biographical information from ancient times to the present.

  • BookLetters

    Looking for a good read? Check out our pages at BookLetters, and find something you'll really enjoy. Sign up for an email newsletter. You can also check availability through quick links back to our catalog.

  • Business Source Premier

    Research companies, industries, and countries, including market research information.

  • Chilton Library

    Access to repair, maintenance and service information on the most popular cars, trucks, vans and SUVs on the road today, as well as many new vehicles. This continuously updated resource provides step-by-step repair procedures, troubleshooting guides, diagnostic trouble codes, photos, illustrations, diagrams, and multimedia (videos and animations) to simplify even the most complicated tasks.

  • Conartist.ohio.gov

    This site from the state of Ohio educates investors on the nature of investment fraud, how to investigate a broker, and how to file complaints.

  • Consumer Health Complete

    Full-text journals, magazines, and reference books from EBSCOhost dealing with health, wellness, fitness, and nutrition— coverage includes a focus on the complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health and wellness.

  • Consumer Reports

    Consumer Reports is a great site for consumer research. Research cars, electronics, appliances, and much more. Find guides on how to shop for particular items.

  • Creativebug Online Video Classes

    More than 1,000 award-winning art & craft video classes taught by recognized design experts and artists. Enjoy video classes on embroidery, quilting, knitting, sewing, baking, painting, and much more! Creativebug is the number one inspirational resource for DIY, crafters, and makers, now available to you for free with your library card. Get started with this guide to Accessing Creativebug (PDF).

  • Driving-tests.org

    This Driver Education program contains the following Ohio-specific information: 11 car practice tests, 6 motorcycle practice tests, 1 CDL (Commercial Driver's License) practice test, 3 online driver's manuals (car, motorcycle, CDL), and an FAQ section with detailed answers to 100+ BMV-related questions.

  • Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos

    The Spanish-language version of World Book Encyclopedia: La Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos.

  • ERIC

    The Education Resources Information Center (a.k.a. ERIC) is a database that includes journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, and policy papers, all in the area of education.

  • Explora

    Explora is a colorful, mobile-friendly interface to selected EBSCO information databases that provides not only a simple search box but easy-to-browse categories. Explora includes topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research; articles, essays, and primary source documents to help students feel successful in their research; and reading level indicators (Lexile® Measures) to simplify discovery of grade-appropriate content.

  • Financial Ratings Series Online

    Important financial literacy tools from Weiss Ratings & Grey House Publishing include independent, unbiased financial strength ratings of banks, credit unions & insurance companies; conservative buy-hold-sell ratings of thousands of stocks, mutual funds & exchange traded funds; your own personal account to create a watchlist, upgrade/downgrade notifications; and information on Medicare supplement insurance. Take advantage of these important financial planning tools today!

  • Fold3

    This resource provides access to digitized versions of original historical and genealogical documents, and to these resources adds social networking capabilities. People can share information and learn from one another. Documents include vital documents, historical newspapers, naturalization records, photos, and more.

  • Foundation Center

    Access Foundation Center databases, directories, fundraising and philanthropy publications, and training resources through a national/international Funding Information Network.

  • FuelEconomy.gov

    A federal government website that helps consumers make informed fuel economy choices when purchasing a vehicle and helps them achieve the best fuel economy possible from the cars they own. The website features updated fuel economy data for new and used passenger vehicles dating back to 1984, allows side-by-side vehicle comparisons, and offers fuel-saving tips. Vehicle-specific air pollution emissions information and safety ratings are also provided.

  • Genetics Home Reference

    The National Library of Medicine website for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes associated with those conditions. Genetics Home Reference includes conditions that have a known or suspected genetic component along with additional information on understanding genetics.

  • Glassdoor

    An inside look at company salaries, reviews, and interview questions for thousands of companies.

  • Health Information Translations

    Provides education resources in multiple languages for health care professionals and others to use in their communities. Resources are easy to read and culturally appropriate. Material provided as a public service; free and without copyright restriction; available in PDF, MP3, and MPG.

  • HeritageQuest

    A research tool for genealogy. Search Census data, local and family histories, and many other areas.

  • Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center

    Offers detailed "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast. Full text is provided from leading hobby and craft magazines.

  • Home Improvement Reference Center

    Features full-text content from leading home improvement magazines, images not found anywhere else online and videos of popular home repair projects. All of the content is organized in a robust, easy-to-use interface so that users can quickly find the information they need.

  • Kids InfoBits

    Content-rich, authoritative, easy-to-use, and perfect for today's young learners, Kids InfoBits addresses the way kids learn and conduct research – and makes it fun! Its curriculum-related content covers a broad range of educational topics via a modern, graphical interface. The design helps kids explore the product and gain comfort with database searching.

  • Kovels' Library Archive

    IN LIBRARY ONLY | Contains 40+ years of Kovels' paid circulation print newsletter, Kovels On Antiques & Collectibles; a database of the most looked-for Pottery, Porcelain and Silver Marks; over 1 million prices of antiques and collectibles; thousands of readers' Questions and Answers; PLUS the latest news in the collecting world! And, it's the ONLY antiques and collectibles database reviewed by experts for accuracy.

  • LibALERTS

    Created by Westlake Porter Public Library, LibALERTS is a site where you can subscribe to your favorite authors and receive email or text message notifications when the library orders their latest books. Learn everything you need to know on the site's "How it Works" page.

  • Literary Reference Center

    Full text of literary journals and respected literary reference works. Contains plot summaries, literary criticism, author biographies and interviews, and the full text of thousands of poems and short stories.

  • Little Pim

    A fun, interactive language system for young learners! Little Pim includes animated videos and other tools to make learning a language simpler for kids. Little Pim offers training in the following languages: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Hebrew, Italian, Japanese, Russian, and Spanish.

  • Lynda.com

    More than 12,000 courses, ranging from computer programming to project management including instruction on various computer software, programming languages, and business topics. The video courses are taught by industry experts and are designed for any skill level. You will need your library card number and PIN in order to log in to Lynda.com.

  • Mango Languages

    An online language-learning system that can help you learn the following foreign languages: Arabic (Levantine), Chinese (Cantonese), Chinese (Mandarin), Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dari, Dutch, Farsi (Persian), Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Indonesian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Pashto, Portuguese (Brazil), Slovak, Spanish (Latin America), Tagalog, Tamil, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian, and Vietnamese. There are also courses for students of English. Mobile apps are available for iOS and Android devices.

  • MasterFile Premier

    Contains extensive reference resources on a range of disciplines, going back to 1975. Included are biographies and original source documents.

  • MedlinePlus

    The National Institutes of Health's website for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, MedlinePlus brings you information about diseases, conditions and wellness issues.

  • Merck Manuals

    One of the world’s most widely used medical information resources. The Merck Manuals have committed to making the best current medical information accessible by up to 3 billion health care professionals and patients on every continent by 2020. The Manuals are available in a Consumer Version for patients, parents and caregivers and a Professional Version for medical professionals and students.

  • Merck Veterinary Manuals

    Find information on animal health topics, written for the veterinary professional, from a trusted source of comprehensive, up-to-date, and accurate information on the health problems affecting animals.

  • Method Test Prep

    A comprehensive self-paced ACT and SAT test prep program designed to work seamlessly with students' unique learning styles and busy schedules, Method Test Prep's ACT and SAT prep programs help students raise their ACT scores an average of three points and their SAT scores an average of 150 points. Available via RBdigital: Log in with your RBdigital username and password or create an account to get started!

  • Morningstar Investment Research Center

    IN LIBRARY ONLY | Research companies, funds, markets and more. This resource features tools to help you decide on the makeup for your portfolio.

  • Morningstar Investment Research Center | Remote Access

    Access outside of the library | Research companies, funds, markets and more. This resource features tools to help you decide on the makeup for your portfolio.

  • New York Times

    Enjoy free and unlimited access to world-class journalism in The New York Times. Access via our Download and Stream page.

  • Newspaper Source

    This database includes full-text of 35 national and international newspapers in addition to nearly 400 regional newspapers.

  • NoveList Plus

    Looking for new reads, help with series, and book reviews? NoveList Plus provides readers with all of those things, and more: all sorts of lists, read-alikes, and genre guides. NoveList Plus also provides different appeal factors for books to help you find reads that you will enjoy. Use Advanced Search to find only titles held at WPPL and follow the Check the Library Catalog link to place a hold on titles you find.

  • Ohio History Central

    This resource is an online encyclopedia of Ohio History. Information is being added to the encyclopedia on a regular basis.

  • Ohio Legal Help

    Need legal information, forms or a lawyer? Ohio Legal Help provides plain language legal help information, interactive self-help tools and connections to local legal and community resources that can help people resolve their legal issues.

  • Ohio Means Jobs

    A site for employers and job seekers in the state of Ohio. Employers can post jobs and search through resumes; job seekers can post resumes and search for jobs.

  • Ohio Web Library

    Federated search engine that searches across a number of commercial databases. The Ohio Web Library Sources page allows you to browse for specific sources for more focused searching.

  • Ohio.gov: Government Information & Services

    Access to Ohio agencies. Information on education, business, recreation, and more.

  • Ohioline

    From Ohio State University, this database includes information on agriculture, natural resources, family and consumer sciences, community development, 4-H and youth.

  • Oxford Research Encyclopedias

    Long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. Each of the twenty-five distinct encyclopedias covers both foundational and cutting-edge topics in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

  • Points of View

    Providing a balance of materials from all viewpoints, Points of View Reference Center includes over 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. It also offers guides for writing position papers, developing arguments and debating.

  • Pressbooks Public

    Interested in getting your novel, memoir, poetry collection, children's book and more in eBook and print-ready formats? Pressbooks Public is an easy-to-use online tool that allows you to create professional quality versions of your book in ePUB, MOBI, PDF and more—all through your library.

  • ReferenceUSA

    Business and residential directories. Downloading and printing are limited to 25 records at a time. Library card number required.

  • Regional Business News

    A database of articles from regional business journals, newspapers and newswires. The database is updated daily. Coverage for the database is nationwide.

  • S&P Global NetAdvantage

    IN LIBRARY ONLY | Industry and company analysis and investment rankings including Equity Research (formerly Stock Reports) and the Outlook investment newsletter. Stock price history charts and executive bios also provided. Screening tools to find companies and create lists from a global universe of over 3 million private companies and 250,000 public companies.

  • S&P Global NetAdvantage | Remote Access

    Access outside of the library | Industry and company analysis and investment rankings including Equity Research (formerly Stock Reports) and the Outlook investment newsletter. Stock price history charts and executive bios are also provided. Screening tools to find companies and create lists from a global universe of over 3 million private companies and 250,000 public companies.

  • Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

    Large street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance Co. between 1867 and 1970. They are important resources for local historical research.

  • Science Reference Center

    Topics covered in Science Reference Center include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

  • Select Ohio Public Records Index

    You can search by first and last name, and refine by county. The records available for research include the following: Ohio Department of Health Death Certificates, Ohio Department of Health Stillborn Death Certificates, Columbus Board of Health Death Certificates, Ohio Girls Industrial School, and Ohio Boys Industrial School. Photocopies of uncertified Ohio death certificates are available for purchase online.

  • Small Business Reference Center

    Exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. Small Business Reference Center includes business videos, help and advice section and details on how to create business plans.

  • Transparent Language Online

    A fun, effective, and engaging experience for learners of all levels looking to build their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in a foreign language. Combining robust courses, supplemental vocabulary, extensive grammar resources, and mobile apps, Transparent Language Online is the most complete language-learning system. With over 100 languages to choose from, including English for speakers of over 26 languages, there is something for every learner. Best of all, with enhanced support for mobile platforms, learners can enjoy the freedom to learn at home, in the library, or on the go.

  • Value Line

    Stock portfolio management and investment research. Library card validation required.

  • Very Short Introductions

    Intelligent and serious introductions to a huge range of subjects. Hundreds of titles can be searched at once, opening up new pathways across subjects. Students can use Very Short Introductions to consider study options, embark on a new module, topic, or essay, or revise a particular subject. Teachers and other educators can assign chapters or whole books to students. Adult learners can also gain new insights through an introduction to a topic.

  • What Tree Is it?

    Have you ever found a leaf or fruit and wonder what kind of tree it came from? The What Tree Is It? website will help you come up with the answers. It is a useful site for hikers, birders, and students.

  • What's that Snake?

    Accurately identifying snakes found in the wild is an important task. What's that Snake?  makes snake identification much easier. It is a great site for students learning about snakes, as well as people who spend time in the outdoors.

  • What's the Point?

    A website created by the Ohio Public Library Information Network and the Ohio Historical Society to provide a guide for identifying flint artifacts, in addition to historical information about Ohio's ancient peoples.

  • World Book Kids

    An online encyclopedia for younger students. Includes a dictionary and a section on maps.

  • World Book Online

    The online version of the World Book Encyclopedia. It includes primary source documents, e-books, encyclopedia articles, and images.

    • Creativebug Online Video Classes

      More than 1,000 award-winning art & craft video classes taught by recognized design experts and artists. Enjoy video classes on embroidery, quilting, knitting, sewing, baking, painting, and much more! Creativebug is the number one inspirational resource for DIY, crafters, and makers, now available to you for free with your library card. Get started with this guide to Accessing Creativebug (PDF).

    • Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center

      Offers detailed "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast. Full text is provided from leading hobby and craft magazines.

    • Kovels' Library Archive

      IN LIBRARY ONLY | Contains 40+ years of Kovels' paid circulation print newsletter, Kovels On Antiques & Collectibles; a database of the most looked-for Pottery, Porcelain and Silver Marks; over 1 million prices of antiques and collectibles; thousands of readers' Questions and Answers; PLUS the latest news in the collecting world! And, it's the ONLY antiques and collectibles database reviewed by experts for accuracy.

    • about:books

      A book-related search engine from the Ohio Public Library Information Network. Search by title, author, etc., and find information on books, reviews, etc.

    • American & English Literature

      Includes full text of works of American and English prose, drama and poetry.

    • BookLetters

      Looking for a good read? Check out our pages at BookLetters, and find something you'll really enjoy. Sign up for an email newsletter. You can also check availability through quick links back to our catalog.

    • LibALERTS

      Created by Westlake Porter Public Library, LibALERTS is a site where you can subscribe to your favorite authors and receive email or text message notifications when the library orders their latest books. Learn everything you need to know on the site's "How it Works" page.

    • Literary Reference Center

      Full text of literary journals and respected literary reference works. Contains plot summaries, literary criticism, author biographies and interviews, and the full text of thousands of poems and short stories.

    • New York Times

      Enjoy free and unlimited access to world-class journalism in The New York Times. Access via our Download and Stream page.

    • NoveList Plus

      Looking for new reads, help with series, and book reviews? NoveList Plus provides readers with all of those things, and more: all sorts of lists, read-alikes, and genre guides. NoveList Plus also provides different appeal factors for books to help you find reads that you will enjoy. Use Advanced Search to find only titles held at WPPL and follow the Check the Library Catalog link to place a hold on titles you find.

    • Pressbooks Public

      Interested in getting your novel, memoir, poetry collection, children's book and more in eBook and print-ready formats? Pressbooks Public is an easy-to-use online tool that allows you to create professional quality versions of your book in ePUB, MOBI, PDF and more—all through your library.

    • Business Source Premier

      Research companies, industries, and countries, including market research information.

    • Conartist.ohio.gov

      This site from the state of Ohio educates investors on the nature of investment fraud, how to investigate a broker, and how to file complaints.

    • Financial Ratings Series Online

      Important financial literacy tools from Weiss Ratings & Grey House Publishing include independent, unbiased financial strength ratings of banks, credit unions & insurance companies; conservative buy-hold-sell ratings of thousands of stocks, mutual funds & exchange traded funds; your own personal account to create a watchlist, upgrade/downgrade notifications; and information on Medicare supplement insurance. Take advantage of these important financial planning tools today!

    • Foundation Center

      Access Foundation Center databases, directories, fundraising and philanthropy publications, and training resources through a national/international Funding Information Network.

    • Glassdoor

      An inside look at company salaries, reviews, and interview questions for thousands of companies.

    • Morningstar Investment Research Center

      IN LIBRARY ONLY | Research companies, funds, markets and more. This resource features tools to help you decide on the makeup for your portfolio.

    • Morningstar Investment Research Center | Remote Access

      Access outside of the library | Research companies, funds, markets and more. This resource features tools to help you decide on the makeup for your portfolio.

    • Ohio.gov: Government Information & Services

      Access to Ohio agencies. Information on education, business, recreation, and more.

    • Ohioline

      From Ohio State University, this database includes information on agriculture, natural resources, family and consumer sciences, community development, 4-H and youth.

    • ReferenceUSA

      Business and residential directories. Downloading and printing are limited to 25 records at a time. Library card number required.

    • Regional Business News

      A database of articles from regional business journals, newspapers and newswires. The database is updated daily. Coverage for the database is nationwide.

    • S&P Global NetAdvantage

      IN LIBRARY ONLY | Industry and company analysis and investment rankings including Equity Research (formerly Stock Reports) and the Outlook investment newsletter. Stock price history charts and executive bios also provided. Screening tools to find companies and create lists from a global universe of over 3 million private companies and 250,000 public companies.

    • S&P Global NetAdvantage | Remote Access

      Access outside of the library | Industry and company analysis and investment rankings including Equity Research (formerly Stock Reports) and the Outlook investment newsletter. Stock price history charts and executive bios are also provided. Screening tools to find companies and create lists from a global universe of over 3 million private companies and 250,000 public companies.

    • Small Business Reference Center

      Exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. Small Business Reference Center includes business videos, help and advice section and details on how to create business plans.

    • Value Line

      Stock portfolio management and investment research. Library card validation required.

    • Driving-tests.org

      This Driver Education program contains the following Ohio-specific information: 11 car practice tests, 6 motorcycle practice tests, 1 CDL (Commercial Driver's License) practice test, 3 online driver's manuals (car, motorcycle, CDL), and an FAQ section with detailed answers to 100+ BMV-related questions.

    • ERIC

      The Education Resources Information Center (a.k.a. ERIC) is a database that includes journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, and policy papers, all in the area of education.

    • Glassdoor

      An inside look at company salaries, reviews, and interview questions for thousands of companies.

    • Lynda.com

      More than 12,000 courses, ranging from computer programming to project management including instruction on various computer software, programming languages, and business topics. The video courses are taught by industry experts and are designed for any skill level. You will need your library card number and PIN in order to log in to Lynda.com.

    • Method Test Prep

      A comprehensive self-paced ACT and SAT test prep program designed to work seamlessly with students' unique learning styles and busy schedules, Method Test Prep's ACT and SAT prep programs help students raise their ACT scores an average of three points and their SAT scores an average of 150 points. Available via RBdigital: Log in with your RBdigital username and password or create an account to get started!

    • Ohio Means Jobs

      A site for employers and job seekers in the state of Ohio. Employers can post jobs and search through resumes; job seekers can post resumes and search for jobs.

    • ReferenceUSA

      Business and residential directories. Downloading and printing are limited to 25 records at a time. Library card number required.

    • Small Business Reference Center

      Exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. Small Business Reference Center includes business videos, help and advice section and details on how to create business plans.

    • Transparent Language Online

      A fun, effective, and engaging experience for learners of all levels looking to build their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in a foreign language. Combining robust courses, supplemental vocabulary, extensive grammar resources, and mobile apps, Transparent Language Online is the most complete language-learning system. With over 100 languages to choose from, including English for speakers of over 26 languages, there is something for every learner. Best of all, with enhanced support for mobile platforms, learners can enjoy the freedom to learn at home, in the library, or on the go.

    • Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos

      The Spanish-language version of World Book Encyclopedia: La Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos.

    • Health Information Translations

      Provides education resources in multiple languages for health care professionals and others to use in their communities. Resources are easy to read and culturally appropriate. Material provided as a public service; free and without copyright restriction; available in PDF, MP3, and MPG.

    • Little Pim

      A fun, interactive language system for young learners! Little Pim includes animated videos and other tools to make learning a language simpler for kids. Little Pim offers training in the following languages: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Hebrew, Italian, Japanese, Russian, and Spanish.

    • Mango Languages

      An online language-learning system that can help you learn the following foreign languages: Arabic (Levantine), Chinese (Cantonese), Chinese (Mandarin), Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dari, Dutch, Farsi (Persian), Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Indonesian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Pashto, Portuguese (Brazil), Slovak, Spanish (Latin America), Tagalog, Tamil, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian, and Vietnamese. There are also courses for students of English. Mobile apps are available for iOS and Android devices.

    • Transparent Language Online

      A fun, effective, and engaging experience for learners of all levels looking to build their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in a foreign language. Combining robust courses, supplemental vocabulary, extensive grammar resources, and mobile apps, Transparent Language Online is the most complete language-learning system. With over 100 languages to choose from, including English for speakers of over 26 languages, there is something for every learner. Best of all, with enhanced support for mobile platforms, learners can enjoy the freedom to learn at home, in the library, or on the go.

    • African American Heritage

      ProQuest® African American Heritage is a groundbreaking digital resource exclusively devoted to African American family history research. It provides users a dedicated resource that brings together records critical to African American family research and connects them to a community of research experts, who can provide invaluable mentoring and assistance.

    • Ancestry Library Edition

      IN LIBRARY ONLY | A genealogical database that includes U.S. Census data, special collections, as well as charts and forms to organize your research.

    • Fold3

      This resource provides access to digitized versions of original historical and genealogical documents, and to these resources adds social networking capabilities. People can share information and learn from one another. Documents include vital documents, historical newspapers, naturalization records, photos, and more.

    • HeritageQuest

      A research tool for genealogy. Search Census data, local and family histories, and many other areas.

    • Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

      Large street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance Co. between 1867 and 1970. They are important resources for local historical research.

    • Select Ohio Public Records Index

      You can search by first and last name, and refine by county. The records available for research include the following: Ohio Department of Health Death Certificates, Ohio Department of Health Stillborn Death Certificates, Columbus Board of Health Death Certificates, Ohio Girls Industrial School, and Ohio Boys Industrial School. Photocopies of uncertified Ohio death certificates are available for purchase online.

    • Conartist.ohio.gov

      This site from the state of Ohio educates investors on the nature of investment fraud, how to investigate a broker, and how to file complaints.

    • Driving-tests.org

      This Driver Education program contains the following Ohio-specific information: 11 car practice tests, 6 motorcycle practice tests, 1 CDL (Commercial Driver's License) practice test, 3 online driver's manuals (car, motorcycle, CDL), and an FAQ section with detailed answers to 100+ BMV-related questions.

    • FuelEconomy.gov

      A federal government website that helps consumers make informed fuel economy choices when purchasing a vehicle and helps them achieve the best fuel economy possible from the cars they own. The website features updated fuel economy data for new and used passenger vehicles dating back to 1984, allows side-by-side vehicle comparisons, and offers fuel-saving tips. Vehicle-specific air pollution emissions information and safety ratings are also provided.

    • Ohio Legal Help

      Need legal information, forms or a lawyer? Ohio Legal Help provides plain language legal help information, interactive self-help tools and connections to local legal and community resources that can help people resolve their legal issues.

    • Ohio.gov: Government Information & Services

      Access to Ohio agencies. Information on education, business, recreation, and more.

    • Consumer Health Complete

      Full-text journals, magazines, and reference books from EBSCOhost dealing with health, wellness, fitness, and nutrition— coverage includes a focus on the complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health and wellness.

    • Genetics Home Reference

      The National Library of Medicine website for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes associated with those conditions. Genetics Home Reference includes conditions that have a known or suspected genetic component along with additional information on understanding genetics.

    • Health Information Translations

      Provides education resources in multiple languages for health care professionals and others to use in their communities. Resources are easy to read and culturally appropriate. Material provided as a public service; free and without copyright restriction; available in PDF, MP3, and MPG.

    • MedlinePlus

      The National Institutes of Health's website for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, MedlinePlus brings you information about diseases, conditions and wellness issues.

    • Merck Manuals

      One of the world’s most widely used medical information resources. The Merck Manuals have committed to making the best current medical information accessible by up to 3 billion health care professionals and patients on every continent by 2020. The Manuals are available in a Consumer Version for patients, parents and caregivers and a Professional Version for medical professionals and students.

    • Merck Veterinary Manuals

      Find information on animal health topics, written for the veterinary professional, from a trusted source of comprehensive, up-to-date, and accurate information on the health problems affecting animals.

    • African American Heritage

      ProQuest® African American Heritage is a groundbreaking digital resource exclusively devoted to African American family history research. It provides users a dedicated resource that brings together records critical to African American family research and connects them to a community of research experts, who can provide invaluable mentoring and assistance.

    • Ancestry Library Edition

      IN LIBRARY ONLY | A genealogical database that includes U.S. Census data, special collections, as well as charts and forms to organize your research.

    • Biography Reference Bank

      This database from H.W. Wilson provides biographical information from ancient times to the present.

    • Fold3

      This resource provides access to digitized versions of original historical and genealogical documents, and to these resources adds social networking capabilities. People can share information and learn from one another. Documents include vital documents, historical newspapers, naturalization records, photos, and more.

    • Ohio History Central

      This resource is an online encyclopedia of Ohio History. Information is being added to the encyclopedia on a regular basis.

    • Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

      Large street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance Co. between 1867 and 1970. They are important resources for local historical research.

    • What's the Point?

      A website created by the Ohio Public Library Information Network and the Ohio Historical Society to provide a guide for identifying flint artifacts, in addition to historical information about Ohio's ancient peoples.

    • Academic Search Premier

      This database includes academic journals going back as far as 1975, and further in some cases. Journals cover a wide range of academic disciplines.

    • America's News Magazines & Plain Dealer

      Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded. The Plain Dealer (Cleveland, OH) and other News Magazines are available.

    • Consumer Reports

      Consumer Reports is a great site for consumer research. Research cars, electronics, appliances, and much more. Find guides on how to shop for particular items.

    • Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center

      Offers detailed "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast. Full text is provided from leading hobby and craft magazines.

    • Home Improvement Reference Center

      Features full-text content from leading home improvement magazines, images not found anywhere else online and videos of popular home repair projects. All of the content is organized in a robust, easy-to-use interface so that users can quickly find the information they need.

    • Kovels' Library Archive

      IN LIBRARY ONLY | Contains 40+ years of Kovels' paid circulation print newsletter, Kovels On Antiques & Collectibles; a database of the most looked-for Pottery, Porcelain and Silver Marks; over 1 million prices of antiques and collectibles; thousands of readers' Questions and Answers; PLUS the latest news in the collecting world! And, it's the ONLY antiques and collectibles database reviewed by experts for accuracy.

    • MasterFile Premier

      Contains extensive reference resources on a range of disciplines, going back to 1975. Included are biographies and original source documents.

    • New York Times

      Enjoy free and unlimited access to world-class journalism in The New York Times. Access via our Download and Stream page.

    • Newspaper Source

      This database includes full-text of 35 national and international newspapers in addition to nearly 400 regional newspapers.

    • America's News Magazines & Plain Dealer

      Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded. The Plain Dealer (Cleveland, OH) and other News Magazines are available.

    • Conartist.ohio.gov

      This site from the state of Ohio educates investors on the nature of investment fraud, how to investigate a broker, and how to file complaints.

    • Driving-tests.org

      This Driver Education program contains the following Ohio-specific information: 11 car practice tests, 6 motorcycle practice tests, 1 CDL (Commercial Driver's License) practice test, 3 online driver's manuals (car, motorcycle, CDL), and an FAQ section with detailed answers to 100+ BMV-related questions.

    • Ohio History Central

      This resource is an online encyclopedia of Ohio History. Information is being added to the encyclopedia on a regular basis.

    • Ohio Legal Help

      Need legal information, forms or a lawyer? Ohio Legal Help provides plain language legal help information, interactive self-help tools and connections to local legal and community resources that can help people resolve their legal issues.

    • Ohio Means Jobs

      A site for employers and job seekers in the state of Ohio. Employers can post jobs and search through resumes; job seekers can post resumes and search for jobs.

    • Ohio.gov: Government Information & Services

      Access to Ohio agencies. Information on education, business, recreation, and more.

    • Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

      Large street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance Co. between 1867 and 1970. They are important resources for local historical research.

    • Select Ohio Public Records Index

      You can search by first and last name, and refine by county. The records available for research include the following: Ohio Department of Health Death Certificates, Ohio Department of Health Stillborn Death Certificates, Columbus Board of Health Death Certificates, Ohio Girls Industrial School, and Ohio Boys Industrial School. Photocopies of uncertified Ohio death certificates are available for purchase online.

    • What Tree Is it?

      Have you ever found a leaf or fruit and wonder what kind of tree it came from? The What Tree Is It? website will help you come up with the answers. It is a useful site for hikers, birders, and students.

    • What's that Snake?

      Accurately identifying snakes found in the wild is an important task. What's that Snake?  makes snake identification much easier. It is a great site for students learning about snakes, as well as people who spend time in the outdoors.

    • What's the Point?

      A website created by the Ohio Public Library Information Network and the Ohio Historical Society to provide a guide for identifying flint artifacts, in addition to historical information about Ohio's ancient peoples.

    • about:books

      A book-related search engine from the Ohio Public Library Information Network. Search by title, author, etc., and find information on books, reviews, etc.

    • Academic Search Premier

      This database includes academic journals going back as far as 1975, and further in some cases. Journals cover a wide range of academic disciplines.

    • American & English Literature

      Includes full text of works of American and English prose, drama and poetry.

    • American Physical Society Journals

      IN LIBRARY ONLY | The American Physical Society (APS) provides free online access to all APS journals in U.S. public libraries and high schools. Among the journals available are Physical Review Letters, Physical Review X, Physical Review, and Reviews of Modern Physics.

    • Consumer Reports

      Consumer Reports is a great site for consumer research. Research cars, electronics, appliances, and much more. Find guides on how to shop for particular items.

    • Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos

      The Spanish-language version of World Book Encyclopedia: La Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos.

    • Explora

      Explora is a colorful, mobile-friendly interface to selected EBSCO information databases that provides not only a simple search box but easy-to-browse categories. Explora includes topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research; articles, essays, and primary source documents to help students feel successful in their research; and reading level indicators (Lexile® Measures) to simplify discovery of grade-appropriate content.

    • Kids InfoBits

      Content-rich, authoritative, easy-to-use, and perfect for today's young learners, Kids InfoBits addresses the way kids learn and conduct research – and makes it fun! Its curriculum-related content covers a broad range of educational topics via a modern, graphical interface. The design helps kids explore the product and gain comfort with database searching.

    • Literary Reference Center

      Full text of literary journals and respected literary reference works. Contains plot summaries, literary criticism, author biographies and interviews, and the full text of thousands of poems and short stories.

    • MasterFile Premier

      Contains extensive reference resources on a range of disciplines, going back to 1975. Included are biographies and original source documents.

    • Ohio Web Library

      Federated search engine that searches across a number of commercial databases. The Ohio Web Library Sources page allows you to browse for specific sources for more focused searching.

    • Oxford Research Encyclopedias

      Long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. Each of the twenty-five distinct encyclopedias covers both foundational and cutting-edge topics in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

    • Points of View

      Providing a balance of materials from all viewpoints, Points of View Reference Center includes over 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. It also offers guides for writing position papers, developing arguments and debating.

    • Very Short Introductions

      Intelligent and serious introductions to a huge range of subjects. Hundreds of titles can be searched at once, opening up new pathways across subjects. Students can use Very Short Introductions to consider study options, embark on a new module, topic, or essay, or revise a particular subject. Teachers and other educators can assign chapters or whole books to students. Adult learners can also gain new insights through an introduction to a topic.

    • World Book Kids

      An online encyclopedia for younger students. Includes a dictionary and a section on maps.

    • World Book Online

      The online version of the World Book Encyclopedia. It includes primary source documents, e-books, encyclopedia articles, and images.

    • American Physical Society Journals

      IN LIBRARY ONLY | The American Physical Society (APS) provides free online access to all APS journals in U.S. public libraries and high schools. Among the journals available are Physical Review Letters, Physical Review X, Physical Review, and Reviews of Modern Physics.

    • Genetics Home Reference

      The National Library of Medicine website for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes associated with those conditions. Genetics Home Reference includes conditions that have a known or suspected genetic component along with additional information on understanding genetics.

    • Merck Veterinary Manuals

      Find information on animal health topics, written for the veterinary professional, from a trusted source of comprehensive, up-to-date, and accurate information on the health problems affecting animals.

    • Ohio History Central

      This resource is an online encyclopedia of Ohio History. Information is being added to the encyclopedia on a regular basis.

    • Ohioline

      From Ohio State University, this database includes information on agriculture, natural resources, family and consumer sciences, community development, 4-H and youth.

    • Science Reference Center

      Topics covered in Science Reference Center include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

    • What Tree Is it?

      Have you ever found a leaf or fruit and wonder what kind of tree it came from? The What Tree Is It? website will help you come up with the answers. It is a useful site for hikers, birders, and students.

    • What's that Snake?

      Accurately identifying snakes found in the wild is an important task. What's that Snake?  makes snake identification much easier. It is a great site for students learning about snakes, as well as people who spend time in the outdoors.

    • Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos

      The Spanish-language version of World Book Encyclopedia: La Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos.

    • Explora

      Explora is a colorful, mobile-friendly interface to selected EBSCO information databases that provides not only a simple search box but easy-to-browse categories. Explora includes topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research; articles, essays, and primary source documents to help students feel successful in their research; and reading level indicators (Lexile® Measures) to simplify discovery of grade-appropriate content.

    • Kids InfoBits

      Content-rich, authoritative, easy-to-use, and perfect for today's young learners, Kids InfoBits addresses the way kids learn and conduct research – and makes it fun! Its curriculum-related content covers a broad range of educational topics via a modern, graphical interface. The design helps kids explore the product and gain comfort with database searching.

    • Little Pim

      A fun, interactive language system for young learners! Little Pim includes animated videos and other tools to make learning a language simpler for kids. Little Pim offers training in the following languages: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Hebrew, Italian, Japanese, Russian, and Spanish.

    • Method Test Prep

      A comprehensive self-paced ACT and SAT test prep program designed to work seamlessly with students' unique learning styles and busy schedules, Method Test Prep's ACT and SAT prep programs help students raise their ACT scores an average of three points and their SAT scores an average of 150 points. Available via RBdigital: Log in with your RBdigital username and password or create an account to get started!

    • Points of View

      Providing a balance of materials from all viewpoints, Points of View Reference Center includes over 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. It also offers guides for writing position papers, developing arguments and debating.

    • Very Short Introductions

      Intelligent and serious introductions to a huge range of subjects. Hundreds of titles can be searched at once, opening up new pathways across subjects. Students can use Very Short Introductions to consider study options, embark on a new module, topic, or essay, or revise a particular subject. Teachers and other educators can assign chapters or whole books to students. Adult learners can also gain new insights through an introduction to a topic.

    • World Book Kids

      An online encyclopedia for younger students. Includes a dictionary and a section on maps.

    • World Book Online

      The online version of the World Book Encyclopedia. It includes primary source documents, e-books, encyclopedia articles, and images.

    • ALLDATA

      IN LIBRARY ONLY | Automotive diagnostic and repair information.

    • Chilton Library

      Access to repair, maintenance and service information on the most popular cars, trucks, vans and SUVs on the road today, as well as many new vehicles. This continuously updated resource provides step-by-step repair procedures, troubleshooting guides, diagnostic trouble codes, photos, illustrations, diagrams, and multimedia (videos and animations) to simplify even the most complicated tasks.

    • Creativebug Online Video Classes

      More than 1,000 award-winning art & craft video classes taught by recognized design experts and artists. Enjoy video classes on embroidery, quilting, knitting, sewing, baking, painting, and much more! Creativebug is the number one inspirational resource for DIY, crafters, and makers, now available to you for free with your library card. Get started with this guide to Accessing Creativebug (PDF).

    • FuelEconomy.gov

      A federal government website that helps consumers make informed fuel economy choices when purchasing a vehicle and helps them achieve the best fuel economy possible from the cars they own. The website features updated fuel economy data for new and used passenger vehicles dating back to 1984, allows side-by-side vehicle comparisons, and offers fuel-saving tips. Vehicle-specific air pollution emissions information and safety ratings are also provided.

    • Home Improvement Reference Center

      Features full-text content from leading home improvement magazines, images not found anywhere else online and videos of popular home repair projects. All of the content is organized in a robust, easy-to-use interface so that users can quickly find the information they need.

    • Lynda.com

      More than 12,000 courses, ranging from computer programming to project management including instruction on various computer software, programming languages, and business topics. The video courses are taught by industry experts and are designed for any skill level. You will need your library card number and PIN in order to log in to Lynda.com.