It's a Mystery 12/1/2011

cover artcover artcover artcover art

Crime is Coming to Cleveland

It's very exciting to let you know that in October, 2012, Cleveland will be hosting the renowned World Mystery Convention, better known as Bouchercon.  The theme of this convention is "Crime Fiction Rocks".  Featured guests of honor include Elizabeth George, Mary Higgins Clark, Robin Cook, Les Roberts and John Connolly.  The Opening ceremony will be held on October 4, 2012 at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.  One of the highlights is the voting on and presentation of the Anthony Awards.  For further information about registration and other details regarding the convention and to see a list of authors already registered to attend, click on

Speaking of awards, here is the final list of the 2011 awards given for mystery novels written in 2010.  Unless otherwise indicated, these titles can be found in the WPPL Mystery collection.

Agatha Awards - given by Malice Domestic in honor of Agatha Christie.

     Best Novel:                                                  Bury Your Dead by Louise Penny

     Best First Novel:                                        The Long Quiche Goodbye by Avery Aames

Anthony Awards - given at Bouchercon, named in honor of Anthony Boucher who helped found the Mystery Writers of America.

     Best Mystery Novel:                                    Bury Your Dead by Louise Penny

     Best First Mystery:                                     The Damage Done by Hilary Davidson

Arthur Ellis Awards - presented by the Crime Writers of Canada.

     Best Crime Novel:                                     Bury Your Dead by Louise Penny

Barry Awards - voted on by the readers of Deadly Pleasures Mystery Magazine and presented at Bouchercon.

     Best Novel:                                               The Lock Artist by Steve Hamilton

     Best First Novel:                                      The Poacher's Son  by Paul Dorion (FICTION)

     Best British Crime Novel:                       The Woodcutter by Reginald Hill (FICTION)

     Best Thriller:                                            Thirteen Hours by Deon Meyer (FICTION)

     Best Paperback Original:                       Fever of the Bone by Val McDermid

Dagger Awards - given by the Crime Writer's Association.

     Diamond Dagger:                                   Author Lindsay Davis, Lifetime Achievement

     Gold Dagger:                                           Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter by Tom Franklin (FIC)

     International Dagger:                             Three Seconds by Anders Roslund (FICTION)

     Ian Fleming Steel Dagger:                   The Lock Artist by Steve Hamilton

     New Blood Dagger:                               Before I Go to Sleep by S. J. Watson (FICTION)

Dilys Awards - voted on by members of the Independent Mystery Booksellers Assocation and given to the mystery title that member booksellers most enjoyed selling during the year.

     2010 Winner                                            Bury Your Dead by Louise Penny

Edgar Awards - presented by the Mystery Writers of America in honor of Edgar Allan Poe.

     Grand Master:                                          Author Sara Paretksy

     Best Mystery Novel:                                The Lock Artist by Steve Hamilton

     Best First Novel                                      Rogue Island by Bruce DeSilva

Hammett Prize - given by the North American Branch of the International Association of Crime Writers.

     2010 Winner:                                           The Nearest Exit by Olen Steinhauer (FICTION)

Macavity Awards - named for T.S. Eliot's Macavity: The Mystery Cat and voted on by members of Mystery Readers International.

     Best Mystery Novel:                                 Bury Your Dead by Louise Penny

     Best First Mystery Novel:                        Rogue Island by Bruce DeSilva

Shamus Awards - presented by the Private Eye Writers of America.

     Best PI Novel:                                           No Mercy by Lori Armstrong

     Best First PI Novel:                                  In Search of Mercy by Michael Ayoob

For a complete list of awards and recipients, past and present, go to:


Here are the 2011 additions to the Holiday-themed mysteries in our collection.

Bradley, C. Alan                            I am Half-Sick of Shadows featuring Flavia de Luca

Brightwell, Emily                          Mrs. Jeffries and the Mistletoe Mix-up

Daheim, Mary                              Alpine Winter with Emma Lord

Duncan, Elizabeth                       Killer's Christmas in Wales featuring Penny Brannigan

Heyer, Georgette                         Envious Casca with Inspector Hemingway

Kingsbury, Kate                           Herald of Death - Pennyfoot Hotel series

Perry, Anne                                  Christmas Homecoming with characters from the Pitt series

Washburn, L. J.                            Gingerbread Bump-Off featuring Phyllis Newsom


Happy Holidays from the Mystery Lady.

Cleveland Bouchercon 2012

Thanks for the BCON mention on your web site Mystery Lady...

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.